Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Gotham Recordings Sessions – Lee Andrews & The Hearts


Here are the early Gotham sides from this marvelous doo-wop group. The material is top notch, kicking off with the original pre-hit version of their classic "Long Lonely Nights" and including "Leona," "Strollin' Baby," "Girl Around the Corner," and two takes of "Lonely Room," most of them featuring only piano accompaniment. (allmusic)

01  Long Lonely Nights 
02  Lonely Room
03  Why Do I
04  It's Me
05  Try The Impossible 
06  Show Me The Merengue
07  Just Suppose 
08  Bluebird Of Happiness 
09  Lonely Room
10  Leona
11  Girl Around The Corner
12  Strollin' Baby
13  Abide (By The Golden Rule)